Eye of the Storm

It’s storming outside
And I can’t leave the house
Not because of the rain
But because I fear
That if I leave
Something bad
Will happen to me

Maybe I’ll get struck by lightning
I am an Atheist after all
And the way things have been going lately
Someone must be upset
With my life choices

Maybe I’ll blow a tire
I’ve got two bad ones
Just waiting
For a reason to give out

Or perhaps
The lack of traction
Will lead me
To my doom

I could get to the store
Grab what I need
Only for my card to be declined
I’ll walk embarrassed
Wondering what I overspent on this time

I could leave the store
Food in hand
And foolishly leave it on the roof
As i drive away
An absurdity I’m more than capable of

Maybe I’ll make it home
Free of injury
Bag intact
But slip and fall and ruin it all
Afterall, I am a clutz

Maybe I’ll make it in
Prep the meal
Get it started
And then forget

It could burn
And so could I
And why wouldn’t it
With the week I’ve had

Why should anything go right
Why should I
Expect things to change
I mean sure they get better
But then they get worse
The cycle never ends

Through my window
I can hear the storm
As it comes to an end’
But the rain inside of me
Is starting to cause a flood

My heart thunders at the thought
Of one more thing going wrong
Images of lightning
Flash before my tightly sealed eyes

As I sit
Inside of the eye of my storm
I shift my focus
From the sound of the rain
To the beauty that will follow

The tears that only came
To cleanse my soul
The wind
To blow away the doubt
My thundering heart
That beat with the passion of my dream
Letting me know
That they are still alive

Author: Miscellaneous Announcements

Writing to become a better writer.

Leave a comment